top of page
Writer's pictureJosephine A. Meinardus

What to do after accomplishing a goal

"When a goal matters enough to a person, that person will find a way to accomplish what at first seemed impossible."

 

Well... if you have not heard... I have accomplished a dream that I have had since 2018 when I was originally accepted to FIDM... I am officially a part of the IMPD program! This is a program that will (HOPEFULLY) take me around the world to learn about all the beautiful things in my industry. This is something that I have worked for since I was in high school. Honestly, it is the only thing that has kept me going throughout my FIDM career when things seemed hopeless; I was pushed by wanting to get to where I am now, but the question is; what do I do next?

 

I have actually never had this issue in the past. I always know my next step or next goal because I am a solid 20 steps ahead, but honestly... I do not know what my next "shoot for the stars" goal is gonna be. Although, I have a few ideas I don't know how many of them are currently feasible. I have my short term goals. Increase follower count, increase subscriber count, increase volunteering, and to make more time for me with boundary setting, but I haven't set a long term goal in a hot second.


I have a hard time with long term goals because most people set two.

  1. That is feasible but cannot be done overnight

  2. That seems impossible but is there to shoot for

I disagree that there should be two forms of thinking. There should only be one. The one that seems impossible and out of this world is the one that you are always shooting for. Nothing less. In believing that way I have always been able to accomplish the impossible, but it is because I refuse to let myself think that anything is truly impossible. That is just planting a seed of doubt in the mind from the start.


When talking about a new dream or goal the first thoughts are the most important ones. I am an advocate for positive thinking and want you to understand the importance of thinking like a badass. It might seem silly at first but you have to think as if you are always the best person in the room and then humble yourself realizing the only reason you are there is because of the people who empower you and God himself. You are a badass, so think like one. Do not deprive yourself from the luxurious feeling that is happiness and knowing that you are just as amazing as you dreamed you would be when you were looking out your window, in your small town at the age of eleven wondering how you would make an impact on the world.

 

Back to the goal conversation. There should be levels of goals, but I do not feel that any of them should be ranked as "more possible" than any of the others. Here is how my goal planning comes to life:


  1. A goal that will never be fully fulfilled

    1. This goal for me is to bring joy to everyone I come across. Especially in my future business. I want to change the world with clothing; something that many people would scoff at, but I know is possible. This is my personal promise. I want to advocate kindness, joy, and happiness in the clothing I provide for others and in turn I made it my lifelong goal because there is not a due date, and I make it a daily task to bring joy to others. In work, in life, in everything. Heck, even taking a picture for a group of girls at a restaurant. It makes them smile and I know it is better than that self timer picture they were about to post on Instagram. :)

  2. A goal that focuses on education

    1. This is where I am having to reset. I just accomplished a major educational goal. I could say that I want to keep my honor roll or want to push for Presidents' honor roll, but I do not feel those are challenging enough. In turn I am going to need a little longer to think on that one. I will keep y'all updated...

  3. A goal that focuses on spirit / religion

    1. This is something that I am constantly reevaluating. I am happy with my relationship with God, but it could always be improved. I am pushing myself to go to mass every Sunday no matter how tired or lazy I am. I am also trying to push myself to have a more open conversation with God consistently. In other words I want to never "hang up the phone." God is the reason I have everything that I have today and I will have no problem giving Him the credit He so rightfully deserves, but I know that sometimes He wants to hear about the new brand of chicken nuggets I found that are amazing just as much as my mother wants to. (I know they don't really care, but I like to believe they enjoy hearing how excited I am)

  4. A goal that focuses on you

    1. This is one that I typically struggle with, but am constantly holding myself to. I usually revise this goal yearly because I feel that you can get strong in multiple areas of yourself. This year it was to set healthy boundaries. I was sick and tired of getting used and abused in my social and work life because I could not say no and set boundaries. This year I have said no to anything that I do not think will bring me joy or happiness. If one of my friends wants me to go out but all I want to do is take a nap... well... I am going to take my nap, and you cannot convince me that it is a bad idea.

  5. A goal that focuses on your health

    1. This one is pretty consistent for me. I am usually decently active in my day to day because I do not drive unless I have to. In turn I focus on my eating in this goal. I make sure that I am eating at the right times, not starving myself accidentally, and making sure that I keep my sugar levels at a healthy point to avoid hypoglycemic episodes.

  6. A goal that tells your story

    1. This goal is something that I will not stop pushing for until I accomplish it. I want to give a TedTalk about my story. I am not 100% sure on what that story is just yet, but I know my story will help others and I dream of being on that red stage one of these days.

  7. A goal that can be accomplished in 5 years

    1. This is launching my own brand with all portions of the company/ experience I am wanting to create. This is something that I have always been passionate about and I will not stop until I achieve it, but I want to be fully expanded to where I get to cover all of my bases in 5 years.

  8. A goal that can be accomplished in 3 years

    1. I want to have an established brand and at least 1 fully functional location with my company. I talk like this will be easy... although I know this will most definitely be the most challenging thing I have ever done in my life. I know I will do it better than anyone else, and that is how badasses think.

  9. A goal that can be accomplished in 1 year

    1. I want to have at least half of my loans paid off and be financially independent from my parents. This is my first goal that talks about money at all because I do not like goals that are set by money in my personal life. There is so much more to life than money and that is why this is the only goal that I have that even closely relates to money.

  10. A goal that can be accomplished in 6 months

    1. I want to launch a small business for a little side hustle. I want this to be my step into the bridal industry, and I already have a start on what I plan to do. This is something that I am super passionate about, but I have to have it launched before IMPD starts or I will be way too overwhelmed *IN GOAL SETTING IT IS SUPER IMPORTANT TO BE CONCIOUS OF YOUR FEELINGS AND LEVELS OF STRESS! DO NOT OVERLOAD YOURSELF BY MAKING GOALS FOR 6 MONTHS THAT CANNOT BE LOGICALLY DONE FOR 5 YEARS*

  11. A goal that can be accomplished in 1 month

    1. I want to feel ready to level up. I just recently leveled up with school and my job, so I am giving myself a minute to breathe before I push for the next level, but there will come a point when the rest period is over and I am pushing myself to be mentally and physically prepared for the next level up in 30 days.

 

Goal setting is super important but also really difficult. With that being said, do not let it push you away. Writing out your goals is the first step to achieving them! I hope that the guidelines that I set out explaining how I set my goals was helpful to you and that you will share your new goals with me! You are always welcome to reach out via email or phone number!


Now, let's get to setting those goals and accomplishing more after that moment of "omg what do I do now??"


Much love, and happy goal setting!

Josephine A. Meinardus

43 views7 comments

Recent Posts

See All

7 Comments



Online Assignment Expert
Online Assignment Expert
Nov 30, 2022

My Essay Mate is a leading Assignment Help,Dissertation Help and Essay Help provider in the World. We are known for our excellent service quality and on time delivery of order.

Assignment Help

assignment helper

perdisco assignment help

university assignment help

cheap assignment help

java assignment help

nursing assignment help

law assignment help

Like

Online Assignment Expert
Online Assignment Expert
Nov 03, 2022

Thank you for this wonderful information share and excellent information providing by your article. Are you looking for Assignment Helpservices in Australia? Do you require to finish your assignment? thesis writing service is a well-liked assignment Acquire immediate do my assignment before completion of time at a fair cost. Kindly visit the My Essay Mate website…

Assignment Help

Assignment Help Perth

Instant Assignment Help

Assignment Help Brisbane

Assignment Help Adelaide

Java Assignment Help

Like

Online Assignment Expert
Online Assignment Expert
Aug 24, 2022

Thank you for this wonderful information share and excellent information providing by your article. Are you looking forassignment help canda services in Australia? Do you require to finish your assignment? Australian assignment help is a well-liked assignment Acquire immediate Programming Assignment Help before completion of time at a fair cost. Kindly visit the Online Assignment Expert website…

Like

William James
William James
Aug 24, 2022

The contents of this blog are always very interesting, educative, and informative, I must commend you for the good work you are doing here and I urge you to keep it up.

accounting assignment help

Economics Assignment Help

English Assignment Help

Like
bottom of page