top of page
Writer's pictureJosephine A. Meinardus

What am I going to do with the rest of my life?

Updated: May 4, 2020

"I choose to make the rest of my life the best of my life."

 

This blog is to put into words what I try to tell anyone when they ask me what I plan to do with the rest of my life. Normally it comes out a whole bunch of mumbo-jumbo that somehow turns into coherent sentences. But, how that all happens... I am not at all sure.

 

If you didn't know already I am going to The Fashion Institute of Design and Merchandising in Los Angeles, California. I am studying Merchandise Product Development, going into a 3rd year program that will take me around the world as well as give me a second associates degree in international product development/ business, and finishing out my bachelors degree in Business Merchandising and Product Development in my fourth year. If you add that up that is 3 degrees in 4 years. After graduation I plan to use the connections I have made throughout my internships and college experiences and will work in the force for about 5 years. After 5 years I plan to start my own sustainable fashion empire.


This is what I would say to anyone who asked me what I am planning to do with the rest of my life. Now, do not get me wrong your career is a majority of your life... but, it's not all of it. So, let's talk about the other aspects.

 

I want to get married. I want to have children. I want to be an entrepreneur. I want to speak to students about what it is like to balance it all. I want to be that mom that is super extra for every birthday party. I want to travel the world. I want to travel the world with the love of my life. I want to read every classic I get my hand on. I want to speak French fluently. I want to have a happy marriage. I want to have a long, happy, loving life.

That paragraph is what I want from my life. Which means... that "what are you going to do with the rest of your life?" is a loaded question. Maybe, I am the only one that thinks about this question at 3 am, in tears, worried that I will not live up to all of my aspirations and goals. But, I think I am lying to myself... I know at least 1 other person in my world who does the same, usually because we are doing it together.... not the point! So let's direct what I mean when saying I want each one of these things. Shall we?

 

I want to get married

Many girls say this. But, I don't mean I want to have a wedding. I want to have that moment with the person that I want to spend 24/7 with saying they are the one. That there is nothing better than them. I want the commitment. I want the 4 am dances in the kitchen. I want to get married to the person who makes me whole. I don't want a wedding. I want to get married. I am afraid that girls and women nowadays do not know the difference. Everyone thinks that if you want a wedding bad enough that means you want to get married. When, that is 100% incorrect. You can want a wedding but not want to get married. You can want that big day where all the attention is on you but not want to have to share your life with anyone else. This sadly is more common than not.

 

I want to have children

If you have known me for very long I have always said that I never want children. I don't have the patience, grace, or ability to handle children. They always say there is someone who comes into your life and makes you wonder. Makes you rethink different things. My boyfriend is someone who has made me re-think this phrase. Not only does he make me feel like I can accomplish anything but oh my gosh he is the sweetest and custest with children. Do not get me wrong he is completely lost when it comes to changing a diaper or how to burp a baby but he never fails to make any child laugh that cute, little, contagious, laugh. He has mentioned that one day he wants children. And, maybe this is too much for some but he would be a great father... and let's not forget I could dress them up in the CUTEST outfits!!!

 

I want to be an entrepreneur

This has been a goal my entire life. I love creating, planning, and organizing. I have researched entrepreneurship for years and I want to build my own empire. One day, I will change the world with clothing. Just wait.

 

I want to speak to students

I have sat through many keynote speakers and I have learned one thing from all of them. If you have a story, share it. You will not realize who it will help until you speak out and tell them how you persisted through your struggles, how you welcomed failure, how you never gave up. Your story, no matter how messy, exciting, or heartbreaking it might be... it will always help someone. I hope to tell my story to a crowd one of these days. An ultimate goal of mine is to do a Ted Talk. I mean just think about hundreds of people looking at you, intrigued at every syllable. Okay, sorry I might have just given some of you a panic attack, but I love public speaking. So this thought is utterly exhilarating.

 

I want to be "that" mom

Okay, but lets be real... everything I do in my life is a little over the top... it is only expected that my future children would have to endure my extra-ness. Those over the top birthday parties, Im planning them. The lunches with a sweet note, Im writing those. The outfits that are always on point and posted on my social media, I am curating the outfits and the posts thank you very much. I fully intend on being "that" mom when I have children, now let's just see if that actually ends up happening...

 

I want to travel the world with the love of my life

I feel this is on everyones list. Everyone wants those romantic pictures by the Eiffel Tower at sunrise (if you don't you are insane). Everyone wants to have the romantic memories on the beach. Or the kissing in the middle of the streets of Rome (be careful though... the traffic is wild...) My point is, everyone has this wish. But, I like to think mine is different. I want to have all of the dreamy memories and adventures, I mean who wouldn't? But, more importantly, I want those road trips home for Christmas, the last minute flights to a new place because the ticket was cheap and we are free that weekend, those spontaneous trips to Walmart. I want the adventures, the fun, and the world. But, I want it only with him... or it just won't be worth it...

 

I want to read every classic I can get my hand on

You might think I am being dramatic, and I am. Do you ever feel smarter after reading a classic and then being able to talk about it with someone older than you? I do not know about you but intelligent conversations are so appealing to me. I am obsessed with the thought of being able to carry on an intelligent conversation with someone who is double my age. Do not ask me to explain my quirkiness... I do not necessarily want to read the classic because I enjoy them. But, because I will get something out of it. I broader vocabulary, a discussion starter, a correct jeopardy question, and an instant first impression brownie point.

 

I want to speak French fluently

If you have not noticed by now, let me spell it out for you. I LOVE PARIS. Well, honestly, I have never been to Paris... but, I love the thought of Paris. The French appeal of art, love, and lights. Talk about heaven on earth for a hopeless romantic. I have wanted to go to Paris since I could remember. I wanted to go originally because it was the city of love and why the heck not?! When I got a little bit older I learned that Paris is also the fashion empire of the world and the city became THAT. MUCH. PRETTIER. Some of you are probably thinking about how I am fan-girling in an unhealthy way about a foreign place. But... one of these days... I will go to Paris, France... and I will speak that beautiful language fluently...

 

I want to live a long, happy, exciting life

Finally, we are to the icing on the cake. I want my life to be exciting, full of love, and full of adventure. I do not want it to be career bound, holding me down, slowly killing my dreams, full of giving up. My life will be full of heartbreak, love, excitement, adventures, and oh so many dances in the kitchen... I can feel it... and, I am so excited to be able to soak in every single bit of it!


Much love,

Josephine

89 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page