top of page
Writer's pictureJosephine A. Meinardus

The Time I Finally Surprised my Momma

"I am a strong woman because a strong woman raised me."

 

If you have been around my mother and me; you know that we are two peas in a pod and have a bond that is virtually unbreakable. No matter how many boyfriends, best friends, or situations have come up we always stick together or find our way back. Last year I ended up cancelling my trip back home for mom's birthday because I had just gotten my job at LUV and wanted to start right away. This year I was sitting at my calendar around the beginning of April and counted out how often I would see my mother in the year 2021. 3 times. I would see her 3 times in the entire year of 2021. I know this is what growing up is all about, but I am already having a hard enough time being an adult. So, I planned to surprise my momma for the first time ever.

 

Now, there was one BIG kicker here. Mom will book a flight to California if she misses me enough. She is known for booking a flight 2-3 weeks before she comes out here because she wants to hug my neck. Although I love that she loves me so much... I needed to make sure that she would not be flying to California while I was flying back to Arkansas. To combat this challenge I called up every member of my immediate family and a few more to make sure that if she even talked about it you were to do anything humanly possible to convince her to not purchase that ticket. Heck, slam the computer in the ground for all I care. With this challenge taken care of, I just had a million more to combat.


Next was the flights. This really was not a major concern, but I was bringing Kii with me and neither of us can take off of work for longer than a few minutes at a time it seems. Especially right around that time. Between quarterly fall drops, prepping for fall events, prepping for our next quarter of school, and prepping for the holiday season we were always on 10. This means I started looking at flights in April. Set a "watching eye" on them, and booked them when they were at their cheapest. I wanted to do this myself. I mean I am an adult, and I wanted this surprise to be pulled off by me.


The HARDEST part was not telling her about it minutes after I had decided to run with it. If you know me at all you know I am terrible at keeping secrets, especially from my mom. Heck, I would tattle on myself before my brother had the chance to when we were little. I mean... I call her anytime I am excited, having a bad day, or just need to talk about this new taco place I found. I almost spoiled the surprise the day after I had told everyone that I was going to come out and surprise her.

 

I am now posting this blog on her 40th birthday. After an entire weekend of celebrating her and all she does for everyone around her. From facials, massages, hair appointments, shopping, and more. We were all about her last weekend and I tell ya what she is one of the easiest people to celebrate. We had the time of our lives and Kii enjoyed being able to meet everyone. Momma had a smile on her face the entire weekend, and I was so happy to be there in person to celebrate her!

 

Happy Birthday, Momma! I love you to the moon and back!


Much love,

Josephine A. Meinardus



13 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page