top of page
Writer's pictureJosephine A. Meinardus

The Princess has arrived

Updated: Sep 5, 2019


"She dreamed improbable dreams and loved with all her heart"

 

Welcome to your first #memorymonday !! I will be releasing blogs periodically talking about different memories throughout my life. Some are funny. Some are heartwarming. Some are sad. Some you will think, oh... Josephine. This memory is going to make you think the last one, so let's get moving!

 

Let me start by telling you that my favorite Disney princess is Cinderella. Cinderella is a timeless classic that every girl would be lucky to be. My dad and grandfather had instilled that I am a Princess and nobody could convince me otherwise. When I was right around the age of four I had just gotten a Cinderella dress and was insistent on wearing it everyday no matter the occasion. I wore it to my grandmothers, to the store, to the mall, around the house, you name it and I wore it there! You might be thinking, "Oh this is too cute! Little Josephine running around thinking she was a princess!" Well, many people would agree with you.... except my father.


My father came and picked me up from my grandmothers house one day. I was as always in my Cinderella dress and was living my best life. He asked my grandmother what I was wearing and my grandmother insisted that this was a battle that was not worth the fight. But he was insisting that the next day when he brought me back to my grandmothers that I would be a princess in "Normal" clothing. - not sure that normal and my style have ever been synonyms but okay...- My dad went home to my mom and told her the same thing he told my grandmother and my mom warned him the same way but at the end of the conversation wished him the best of luck. My mom had always accepted my personal style and did not think it was worth bucking me on. So, she let me express myself through my clothing, which in hindsight is pretty great.


The next morning my dad was determined that I was going to wear "normal" clothes. There seemed to have been a little bit of arguing, a little bit of crying, and a little bit of stubbornness from both sides. But, in the end, I won and walked into my grandmothers house wearing my princess dress. My grandmother just smiles and says "Well, good morning, Princess." and my dad rolls his eyes and walks out the door.


Now, this was supposed to be a story about how I learned to stand up for my style from a young age but I also like to point out that it was the first time I had won an argument with my dad and was never planning on letting him live it down. Small victories are a real thing but that victory was a big one in my book.


It is also quite rare to hear about a four year old having a style and how she learned to protect her creative outlook on clothing at such a young age. I have always been defensive of my style and have had no problem fighting for it. So, if you have young children or are thinking about it. Let them dress themselves. If they are like me, this argument was one of the building blocks of my passion.


 

This blog was so much fun to write! I enjoyed reminiscing as well as realizing that I was and still am a spunky little gal who lets her opinions be heard. I hope you enjoyed hearing about this small spot in my life! Let me know what you think and what you want to hear about in the future!


Much love,

Josephine



18 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page