top of page
Writer's pictureJosephine A. Meinardus

Soooo... Lemme Catch You Up...

"Be the kind of person that makes others want to up their game."

 

Hi there! Long time no see! I have been insanely busy, but I want to catch y'all up on all the things! I know I say this often, but I am REALLY going to push for my blog posts to be more consistent! Getting into a new routine is a little rough! Anyways, let's catch up!

 

Lucky Brand Competition

Alrighty, this is the only sad news I have... I didn't make it to the final round of the Lucky Brand Competition! Initially, I was kind of bummed because the past few months had just kind of seemed like rejection after rejection when it came to my creations. I then looked on the brighter side of things!

  1. This was an AMAZING experience to put on my resume

  2. Lucky Brand tends to be a part of a few things with FIDM meaning that next time I will have a head start!

  3. I had so much fun and was able to create to a prompt! In a sense, it is almost like writing for a standardized test. You do not know who exactly is going to see your creation, if they will understand what you are going for, or if they will be in a good mood that day and actually inspect what you have done! In other words; it kind of feels like a shot in the dark, and not gonna lie... that suspense and fun are addicting! I adore puzzles and such; which makes me feel even better about my career choice as all I will be doing is solving riddles and puzzles in the bridal industry!

All in all, this was a great experience! Although it did not end as I had planned; this just teaches me... "you don't always get what you what, but you might just find... you get what you need!"

 

Job at LUV Bridal here in DTLA

Oh my goodness!! I am pretty sure that I have told y'all that I plan to be an entrepreneur in the bridal industry. So, you can only imagine how ecstatic I am to be a bridal stylist! I love being able to help these women find their dream dresses for their big day! Not to mention I ADORE helping people in any way possible. In a sense, this job is a good happy for me right now! I look forward to going to work, the girls I work with are amazing, my boss is the sweetest ever; best part some of them even go to FIDM so when I am ranting about school or complaining about how much homework I have procrastinated.... they are right there with me!! I love this place and enjoy stepping into that salon every single shift!

 

Internship at ALMOST THERE

This is another opportunity that just kind of popped in front of me, and then a week later... boom! I have landed my first internship! I have learned oh so much already! I stumbled on this opportunity by scrolling through Instagram when procrastinating homework (let's PRETEND to be shocked for a hot second). A friend that I worked with as a tour guide at FIDM had posted about how this baby of a company needed some extra help! We always push internships at FIDM and how they are super important to get involved in! When she had posted this I immediately messaged her to see what this was all about... next thing I know I have a beautiful to-do list and am insanely happy. Stressed, yes, but if you know me well... you know I am happiest when I am super busy!

 

FIDM Classes

Well... I wish I could say this quarter was a piece of cake, but I would be telling a bald-faced lie! This quarter has had a lot tossed into it to throw me off routine and it takes me a minute to adjust. This quarter has been an interesting class wise. I have learned a lot and feel that I am going to be well-prepped for my last two-quarters of this degree! I am honestly soooo excited!! I have also, started planning my year 3-degree path... Ummm.... did that hit anybody else like a truck? It sure did me... not to mention that I have been living in Los Angeles for ALMOST a year now!?!?! I could have sworn that I turned 15 like 2 weeks ago.... but somehow I am a sophomore in college and am thriving!

 

Well, there it is! I have been posting via Facebook and Instagram to keep up with the daily things... but let me know what you want to see more of! I plan to do a finals recap with all my projects and such! Thank you for reading; I hope you and your family are safe and healthy!


Much Love! 💕

Josephine A. Meinardus

66 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page