top of page
Writer's pictureJosephine A. Meinardus

My first day of not having a first day

Updated: Sep 5, 2019

"They were right. I miss it already."


 

I will not have a first day of school picture until October. Instead I will watch. My friends as they move on to the next chapter of life. The new seniors take on Alma High with stride. A new volleyball team take the court. My little brother walk away from me as he goes to a prestigious high school miles away from me. On August 14th I will not be moving into a college dorm. I will not be starting school. I will be watching.


That might have sounded a little sad. Or even a tad too deep. But, I do not regret saying it. This is my first year of not walking into Alma High School one step higher on the ladder. My first year not walking onto a court as a starter. My first year with new adventures. Ahh there is that turn you were looking for. Do not get me wrong, I enjoy reminiscing and feeling sad for a second isn't half bad; but that's enough of that grey, sad, cloudy stuff. Let's get back to the sunshine.


My Brother: As some of you might know my brother had decided to finish off high school in an accelerated math and science school in Hot Springs. He has always been crazy good at math and science and has had no problem talking over my head about that kind of stuff. I promise you I try to keep up. But, you learn that you can't when he is comforting you in the 7th grade while teaching you algebra because it just does not make since in my head. He is gifted, and is using it. I am proud and happy to watch his story.

My boyfriend: Some of you may know that he is attending the University of Arkansas for mechanical engineering. At the moment that is what he has decided. But, he is quite indecisive so... we could have an update to this sentence at any time. He is also planning on going into the military. Just Airforce National Guard. That not dangerous, right? I am watching him follow his dreams, expand his mind, play with his stocks, talk about and design cars, create business ideas, and his smile grow when he talks about how something works and how if he just tweaked it a little it would work better. I am watching his story unfold while grinning from ear to ear.


My best friend from high school: She is moving to Oklahoma University. We have talked very little since graduation even though we said we would never lose touch. I text her today and asked her if we could meet for lunch before she left. She leaves tomorrow to start her journey of becoming a doctor and caring for people. She has always had a big heart for strangers and never wants to leave anyone behind. She is going to do great things.


My cousin: She is going to UCA in Conway. She is going to become a cheer coach. She has always been better at that kind of stuff than me. She could always make her hair do what she wanted, was talented with makeup, and was always a big supporter of anyone who looked like they might need it. She is going to be a great coach.


All of these people that are around me are so smart in their own ways. They have impacted my life in unforgettable ways which is why it is so hard to tell them goodbye. While they are starting their journey I am still at home. Which, if I am being 100% honest, makes me feel terribly behind.


This first day of not having a first day of school picture felt funny. Like I was missing something. But, in reality... I think I am just excited for what is waiting in my future.

14 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page