top of page
Writer's pictureJosephine A. Meinardus

Life right now!

Updated: May 4, 2020

"Don't stop working until you are proud of what you have made of yourself."

 

Hi there everyone! I am not doing too great with keeping up with this whole blog thing! I will try to do better! Life recently has been a mad house of craziness... between finals happening for the next two weeks, the big fashion show of FIDM coming up, working, studying, and trying my hardest to pull those A's... I have barely had time to breathe! I have also started playing with some ideas about my future and thought I would update you all on what I was thinking!

 

As you all know I am attending college in Los Angeles California at the Fashion Institute of Design and Merchandising (FIDM). I came out here to get start with getting an associates in Merchandise Product Development and then move to an advanced study program to achieve my second associates and then spend the last year of my 4 years in school by achieving a bachelors in the science of business management. Now that y'all have heard my rehearsed speech for the probably 4000000000th time... here is what I have been thinking...


FIDM is unique in the fact that it runs on what is called a "quarter system." For those of you who are not familiar with what this means; it means that I have the OPPORTUNITY to go to school year round and in turn finish my degree faster. That is exactly what I have decided to do, and if everything goes as planned I will graduate 9 months before anyone that I graduated high school with. Talk about exciting! Now... the thing is... I came to Los Angeles planning to go to into the "ready to wear" (clothes every person wears on the day to day basis) category of the fashion industry. After designing things for that section of the industry for my first quarter and a half I was really wondering if I was focusing on the right area... Honestly, I was worried that I had made a wrong decision by choosing the fashion industry because it just "wasn't clicking." So what does Josephine do when she is stuck? She cries and looks through old things that inspired her to make this move. Yes, that sounds super depressing, but it works!!


I started looking through my old sketches and my Pinterest boards and realized... I have never designed ready to wear... I have always designed the extravagant, the big dresses, the ballgowns, the wedding dresses! It clicked, the reason that everything felt off was not because I was not meant for the industry, but because I was designing the wrong things! For the rest of this quarter any project that I have done and anything I have had to design for has been bridal, and when I say you can't wipe the smile off my face, I mean it! Heck, Mr.Clean couldn't wipe this smile away with his special sponges if he tried!


When coming to this realization I realized that it would be a small move in the industry, but a big move in my life! Now, everything I do revolves around the best day of a persons life! I am no joke, planning on living a non-stop fairytale! TALK ABOUT A DREAM! If you know me then you know that I am utterly obsessed with weddings, like... OBSESSED and not ashamed. So, that is one shift in attention in my life.

 

Next up, I moved! Not far, I am still in Los Angeles living like a goddess in the City of Angels, but I am a big kid now and I am living on my own and LOVING IT! Although the Starbucks down the road might be sick and tired of me coming in so often I do enjoy having my own space.

 

I am not wanting this to be too terribly long, but I will try to be better on posting more often to the blog, but I do have a question... please answer in the comments!!


I am wanting to make my presence on social media a little bigger, but I am not sure of the content y'all are wanting to see... fashion? life? what I am learning? the day too day? I am wanting to provide content that y'all actually want to see! If you are not wanting to see outfits, or updates on my life then I do not want to fill up your feed with those! Let me know what you think in the comments!


Like, share, and comment on this blog! Let me know what you think!


As always, much love to you all!

Until next time!

Josephine A. Meinardus💕


44 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Kommentare


bottom of page