top of page
Writer's pictureJosephine A. Meinardus

Leveling up and not realizing it.

Sometimes, you do not realize how far you have come until you turn around and realize that you once dreamed of being where you are.

 

Well hello there! I hate that we keep meeting like this. Me, unable to sleep and feeling like anytime I close my eyes I am wasting time. You, seeing this the following morning and wondering if I am going crazy. All points are valid and reasons for concern I guess. If it makes you feel any better I took a nap when I made it home, so I am assuming that is why I am wide awake.


A few days ago my best friend and I were talking. We typically have at least one DEEP conversation a week where we are talking about something profound after catching each other up on what is happening in the companies we work for and how in the world we are going to become millionaires. The most recent deep conversation was in relation to the fact that we have done shit that we were never prepared to do. Not in the sense of living life in our 20's, but we are doing jobs at 21 that most 41 year olds would be excited to have. Best of all... we see these jobs as stepping stones and not final resorts. What we found most interesting was that we used to dream of this life.


On Saturday, Sarah and I stumbled across an apartment that we both were like "I mean, what the hell... gotta start the apartment shopping somewhere." We honestly expected to walk in and find solidly 25 things that we would want to change, but at least we had gotten through the hassle of the first tour. To our surprise... we fell in love! This apartment is everything that we could have dreamed about! It is in the heart of DTLA with a gorgeous view of the skyline. Two bedrooms, two bathrooms, large closets, new appliances, a salt water pool, a beach volleyball court, weekly yoga classes, AND THE BEST PART... FREE CAR WASHES right there at the apartment complex! We loved it so much and only saw ourselves pushing harder to make sure this was our next home.


Sarah actually sent me a text that I will have at the bottom of this post because it is currently my screen saver on everything. She said "That is the apartment that we will become millionaires in." I have never believed in something so much in my entire life.





Something to know about me and the people I hang around with is that we are a bunch of hustlers. We will find a way to make an extra grand without hesitation, we will work after hours for that promotion, we will monetize every aspect of our life and not even care that our social life has turned into, "I'll be there as long as I can bring my laptop and legging are considered appropriate attire." That is also something that I cherish about my friendship with Sarah. We are both always so sold our for our own visions. There is not a single person in our life that has been able to successfully tell us no, and not see us prove them wrong in every single way. She is starting a ready to wear brand. I am over here with my 6 side hustles and a 9-5, and we are always down to sit on the couch and just keep up the hard work. We have already decided what our living room is going to look like, and have picked out the color palette. When I say that we are both so excited for this move, I mean it. We are both feeling a little stuck creatively, and this was just the push we needed to really get us to the next level.


I have decided that I am locking in for the next 6 months. By my birthday I want 10 goals accomplished. One of those goals is turning 22 in Paris, and marking every single accomplishment off of the list. There are monetary goals, personal goals, and more. All in all... the next 6 months are going to be the most in tuned and focused I have ever been. I do not know if I will be sitting alone in Paris, or if I will have company. Truthfully, at this moment, I do not care if I have company. I will celebrate my birthday just the same, and in being completely honest; I do not think that Sarah would mind spending my birthday in Paris as long as we made a stop in New York on the way home to celebrate hers.


See these are things that a year ago really felt like they could only be a dream. Now they are turning into a reality minute by minute. I am able to think about these things and they be realistic and not farfetched. I am pulling up on my 3 year anniversary of living in Los Angeles. For many, that does not seem like that long ago, but I have lived through a lot out here and I will say I am nothing like the girl I was when I got here 3 years ago. The shy, southern, gullible, and takes everything personal girl is gone. My southern roots are still held tightly, and it may take me a drink or two before I am out in the dance floor, but I am no longer a push over or what I would deem as gullible. Do not get me wrong I have soft spots for some people and those will never go away, but LA has definitely made me tougher.


I did not realize how far I had come until I stepped into that high rise luxury apartment with my best friend with Starbucks in my hand, and my life in my backpack. I could feel every exciting emotion surge through my veins, and I tell you what... the next 6 months are about to be the best 6 months of my life; and I am so excited that you are along for the ride!


If you want to keep up with my day to day I suggest following my Instagram as that is the platform that I am most active on! Don't be afraid to DM, and I cannot wait to see what these next 6 months do for all of us!


Much love,

Josephine A. Meinardus




29 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page