top of page
Writer's pictureJosephine A. Meinardus

In my Carrie Era

"I don't believe in only focusing on one thing - we have so many talents, there is no need for us as humans to have to choose just one."

 

If you are anything like me - you are sitting at your laptop at 12:57 am with your second glass of red wine just finished, two new episodes of your favorite show watched, and at least 3 new creative thoughts bouncing around in your head begging to be set free.


I am an avid lover of Sex and The City. A show that was introduced to me by one of my best friends, and although I always knew Carrie Bradshaw as a character I had not watched a single second of her in action. However - I will say that once I watched it I heavily identified with Carrie. She has this innate desire, creativity, and all-around love for what she does without letting her love life or happy hour suffer.


There is a reboot of Sex in the City, and although it isn't the original I still keep up because it is a great show! After catching up on the few episodes that were released this week; I watched the documentary of the show. There was someone following everyone around at all times trying to document all of the little moments. Although I loved seeing the vintage fashion closet and learning about who the HUMANS are behind these characters. I also kind of dove into thinking about my life (I blame the wine - Beau Noir from Wiedekher specifically) I recently received an opportunity to start writing articles about successful alum that have graduated from FIDM. If you did not notice; I love writing. I use it almost as a destresser for me when other things just are not cutting it. I also love stories. I am an avid reader and am consistently finding another story to get sucked into. Maybe it is because I am a hopeless romantic and am always finding inspiration in other people's stories, maybe it is because I am a people person, maybe it is because I like to escape my own reality every now and then. No matter the reason - I am happy to have another skill that I put to use. So much so that I quite literally write chapters of books when my mind will not stop moving and I need to escape from what is happening in my reality. (As of recently it has been a fall down a flight of stairs, crippling anxiety from work, a smog check that I cannot seem to pass, a check engine light that came on and I sobbed, and last but not least... working until I am falling asleep with my laptop in my lap.) Escaping this reality is necessary for me and I feel like writing does that. Even if I am writing about my own life it always feels like I am writing about someone else's - and I enjoy the step outside of my own consciousness.


I came over here to tell you about the opportunity, the promotion, and the excitement I have to be writing about other people's success; yes. However, I also came over here to talk about everyone's "Carrie Era." Since my ex and I broke up about a year ago I have been in a Carrie era, but at the start of 2023, I made it a point to make this "Carrie Era" as prominent as I could. Does this mean spending more money than I probably should on clothing? Yes. Does this mean buying Vogue instead of dinner? Yes. Does this mean wearing an OUTFIT every day and not just throwing on clothes? YES.


I am here, in the one-bedroom apartment that is big enough for just me, and as I am leveling up with more opportunities, more promotions, and just honestly loving my life more - I have learned a few things that I would like anyone around my age and younger than me to please TAKE TO HEART.


  1. BUY THE F*CKING SHOES: who cares if it will drop your credit score 3 points? who cares if you will cry every time you wear them because they hurt so damn bad? who in the world cares if you don't know where you will wear them? If you walked past them, fell in love, and the credit limit allows. F*ck it - we ball.

  2. Don't get so caught up in what everyone else is doing: If there is anything I have learned in this Carrie era is that nobody knows what the hell they are doing. We are all really just winging it, and although we all like to act like we know what is going on - we don't - so don't try to act like you have it all together. Be a hot mess and own that shit.

  3. Say what is on your mind: If you are thinking it, and you aren't going to mutilate someone by saying it then say it! Don't hold back on the feelings - even if they are big and don't make sense. Don't act like you are not a sailor that curses too much for a lady in your position, people don't care - and you'll have more people like you if you are real and genuine than you ever will being someone that you truly to your core are not.

Well, that's all folks. Good luck with bringing out that inner Carrie!


xoxo

Josephine A. Meinardus


37 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page