top of page
Writer's pictureJosephine A. Meinardus

How to keep it all together... Will someone tell me?

"Nothing but a beautiful mess."

 

I like to think that I have it all together. Honestly, I sometimes am doing such a good job at faking having it all together that I fool myself. At the end of the day fooling myself is the most important part to avoid a heart attack or mental breakdown. Although sometimes those are unavoidable. Yet, how do so many of us fake it? An overload of Pinterest quotes? Maybe. Whispering in God's ear? Eh, long shot. Just pretending that everything is fine while tossing their hair in a messy bun, taking a long sip from a Starbucks coffee, and throwing on their glasses in the late hours to ensure that everything is done? Ah, you have cracked my code.

 

Y'all, I am not gonna lie. The past 4 weeks have been the most hectic weeks of my life. I am finally doing what I have dreamed to be doing and it is just as crazy of a schedule as I imagined. I fit in family time, was on phone calls with vendors overseas, running all over Los Angeles, made sure I spent some time with my boyfriend, and somehow still remembered to feed myself... well most of the time. Neither here nor there I have not made it to the end goal of my career by any means, but doing what I am doing at the age of 20 is something I am very proud of. Let me tell you what I am doing currently so you can somewhat understand why my schedule is so chaotic.


Job 1: Personal Assistant

I am a personal assistant to an entrepreneur in Downtown Los Angeles. As her personal assistant, I help her run her THREE companies, run errands, talk to vendors, run TWO production lines, and so much more. Honestly, this is only the tip of the iceberg and if I were to give you my job description in full detail we would be here forever, and frankly, my back cannot handle that in this chair! I love my job and have already learned so much about the world of entrepreneurship. I am never doing the same thing every day and I always walk into surprises, some good and some bad... Neither here nor there I have been working here for almost 4 months and have enjoyed every second. Not to mention this job is taking me around the country this summer to assist my boss while she is teaching other entrepreneurs in the fashion industry about her climb to the top! I will finally be entering NEW YORK CITY!!! I am so heckin' excited and I cannot explain to you how many happy hops and tears of joy I have had since starting this job.


Job 2: Personal Assistant, but to someone else

I know that first job sounds like she has me pretty busy, and you are definitely not wrong, but there is always room to spread your wings. This second entrepreneur that I am an assistant for is a photographer and he is really rising to the stars (literally) not only will I be growing my Rolodex, but I will also be having so many adventures sticking with these two! My official start date for this position is on Monday and I am so excited! To answer the question I know you are bound to have at this point. No, I am not quitting my first job, but I am adding to the resume! Not to mention I am also looking at going to some pretty dope locations as well as running ANOTHER production line.



School: Bachelors, IMPD, Bachelors

FIDM is a totally different ballgame. I am taking all of this on while also joining 5 classes for my bachelor's degree. I know what you are thinking, "Josephine, I thought you were accepted into that international program?" Well, you would be right. I am going to do 1 of 3 quarters in my Science of Business Management Degree, jump into IMPD for 3 quarters, and then finish out my bachelor's degree with the last 2 quarters and be officially done with school in December of 2022... wait... that is next Christmas... holy sh*t... well, if you couldn't tell I had a small panic moment, but I have learned that those small panics are either something really good or really bad!


My social life:

Shocking that that somehow still exists. Although it is a forced bi-weekly brunch and a phone-free nightly dinner with my boyfriend, it is still a social life. With all of my friends and other socialites being in the same industry as me, it is rare that our schedules all line up is exactly right, and when they do we take full advantage of it!

 

Some quick other news that doesn't really need a paragraph:

- Yes, I am remembering to eat.

- I am having the time of my life and truly doing what I came to California to do

- My boyfriend is moving in with me at the end of this month (slipping that one right in there)

- I am grateful for the life I have while aspiring to achieve the life I desire.


Much love to you all!

Josephine A. Meinardus

35 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page