top of page
Writer's pictureJosephine A. Meinardus

Finding my best self

"Talk to yourself like someone you love."

 

Hi there everyone! I know I know.... I have not talked to y'all in a little while, but I have missed y'all so so much! Let me give you a little life update considering these past 3.5 months have been absolutely insane!

  1. I have graduated with my first degree! Yay!!! I am officially a graduate of the Merchandise Product Development Program at FIDM.

  2. I applied for the program that I have been dreaming of attending since I was first accepted to FIDM and should get the results back here in the next few weeks! (please pray for me!!!!)

  3. I no longer work at LUV Bridal... I say this with a heavy heart, but on to bigger and better!

  4. I now work as a personal assistant to an AMAZING entrepreneurial woman here in Downtown, Los Angeles! She is an absolute gem and a half and I adore every day that I walk into that showroom!

  5. I moved into a new apartment in January! This is one of my biggest accomplishments since moving to California. Not only is it a bigger and better place than what I lived in last year at this time, but I was able to decorate and furnish it to make it EXACTLY what I had pictured!

  6. This is one that I have been keeping on the down-low for a little while, but you will all be seeing him soon enough if you have not seen him already... I have a boyfriend! His name is Kii and I tell ya he makes my heart melt like a popsicle on the 4th of July...

In other words... these past few months have been crazy; just how I like it! I am so grateful and I find myself moved to tears often when reflecting on all the blessings that I have stumbled on the past few months. I like to think that a majority of what you earn is hard work, effort, and putting yourself out there. I am also a realist and am fully aware that there is a solid 2% that is all luck.

 

Since I have graduated, and have a short break before getting started on my next degree, I have decided to put the effort into branding myself. This means picking up the blog again, reading more, posting more, showing the excitement that is my life, and letting people see who I am. I am not saying that I am shooting to be an influencer or anything of that sort. I am just looking at spending these 3 months to improve myself while also showing the world who I am.


If I have learned anything in my 1.5 years living in L.A. it is that you have to brand yourself. This personal branding is a full-time job. Add this to school work, a full-time job, full-time networking, typical day-to-day adult things, and making sure that you are taking care of yourself mentally, physically, and spiritually... this is a lot to handle. This is why unfortunately keeping y'all updated went by the wayside.

 

What is personal branding?


Some people are not exactly sure as to what personal branding is; if I am here for anything it is to educate others on things that I am knowledgable of.


To help you understand this concept I will talk about my journey creating my brand. I am known by many people from my home state as the happy girl with a smile always on her face and is typically in a pastel color and heels. I have kept to my roots in my brand and refuse to let them go. The trickiest part about the branding of myself is that I had to adapt. I did that without losing my roots or letting L.A. eat me alive because of that sweet southern drawl. Now, I am seen as a badass woman, who works her ass off to make her dreams become a reality, but now she wears pastel blazers, stilettos that are an inch and a half higher, and only has a touch of a southern drawl. My brand is still me. I am still that happy girl that dances in the rain and smiles a little too big when the sky is pretty colors, but what you attract shows if you are heading in the right direction in your personal branding adventure. I am not meaning by the guy behind you in the local grocery store asking you, "Aye, what are you up to later?" with a smirk that makes you roll your eyes. Let me give you an example. I attract people that want help organizing their thoughts, ideas, feelings, and emotions. People that need a hug, or just to hear something positive in this negative world we live in. Hard workers who just want to bounce off ideas and have enlightening conversations or people just wanting to relax and know that they are entering a place with no judgment.


Now, the question is... who does your brand attract?


I like to think of this from more of a business standpoint. Your target market. It is practically the same thing. Chanel attracts totally different people than H&M does. They chose to attract the people that they do, and you can too... it just takes a little bit of effort and transparency.

 

On that note, I am signing off, but I am going to get back into doing blogs at least weekly, and talking about the day-to-day! Watch out for me on your socials and subscribe to the blog to stay up to date on all the crazy things I am up to out here, because I promise you... my life is not going to slow down anytime soon!

59 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page