top of page
Writer's pictureJosephine A. Meinardus

Christmas is right around the corner, right?

Updated: May 4, 2020

"Christmas Magic is silent. You can't hear it, but you feel it, you know it, you believe in it."

 

This is one of those moments, where if you have known me very long you are like, "Of course, Josephine is writing a blog about Christmas before Thanksgiving and right after Halloween." I have a few favorite holidays, but if you made me give up all but one? Sorry, Christmas is the only thing staying. I am OBSESSED to say the least. I have already started making Christmas presents and I do not see the smallest problem with it. Since you have started to realize that I go crazy over Christmas, let me tell you my favorite parts of Christmas. So as we approach this holiday season you might be able to see this beautiful season through my eyes.

 

Christmas Tree Picking

In my family we pick out live Christmas trees for our house, and decorate all of them. The whole family goes to the tree farm on Christmas Tree Lane to run through the rows of trees saying, "Oh this is it" and then arguing on whether it will fit in the corners of the house we are allotted. My brother and I get our own tree to decorate and he is always insistent on getting the "fluffiest" one on the lot. *roll eyes* I on the other hand would much rather have the simple little one that will fit perfectly and will look pretty with our many ornaments without looking insane. For some reason, this is always a fight I lose...

Then it comes time to decorate! Imagine; Christmas music blaring, giggles, obnoxious singing coming from every direction, screaming to get the cat out of the top of the tree in the foyer, and last but not least, the argument of the need for more ornaments in one spot to help with the "balance." (That last one is usually a whispered argument between my dad, brother, and myself while mom is in her happy place with the tinsel.) This Christmas tradition is one of my favorites! Last year I was "not in the mood" so I skipped out on it and I tell ya, with still being about a month away from smelling pine needles... I regret that so much!!

My brother and I decorating is a whole different ballgame. We both have chosen a yearly ornament since we were about 3. When mixing all of those with the massive amount you get on your first Christmas, then throw the ornaments you made out of popsicle sticks on there and boom! You have the tree of the Meinardus children. Still our tree is not complete without the candy canes that I insist on and those stupid icicles that Terrance insists on. I always have to remind myself that it is our tree and although it doesn't make my heart throb with aesthetic it tells the story of us in one of the best ways possible.

 

Christmas Movies

Oh my goodness how I adore Christmas movies! All the way from "It's a Wonderful Life" to "Elf." I LOVE THEM ALL! The feeling I get when I watch Christmas movies makes my heart sooooo happy and I am just looking forward to curling up in a blanket with hot cocoa on Christmas Day while watching my favorite movies after getting back from my grandmothers Christmas. Oh my, the thought is intoxicating!!

 

Hallmark Christmas Movies

It is only fair that Hallmark Christmas movies get their own section. I mean, if you have followed me around long enough you know how obsessed I am with these cheesy, romantic, and happy movies. I have been chastised often for how much I openly adore Hallmark Christmas movies and all I have to say to them is, "Don't be such a grinch!" (Also another one of my favorites!) Just wait, you will see my shirts and excitement for Hallmark movies come in the next couple of days.... sorry I just can't help myself....

 

The Cookies

If you do not like Christmas cookies then there is just something wrong with you. I do not know what it is... but you need Jesus. Christmas cookies are not only my favorite activity to participate in during the Christmas season but also they seem to taste so much better than cookies baked throughout the rest of the year! I will never forget looking through the stack of books mom has to try and find the perfect cookies for Santa! We would always pick the ones that were the most difficult and took the longest> The amount of fights Terrance and I would get in during those few hours because we both wanted to have our hands in everything... I am surprised mom didn't kill us both! Yet, we somehow got cookies that tasted heavenly and were singing to our favorite songs the entire time!

 

Giving Presents

I know for a fact I am not the only person that enjoys giving presents more than receiving presents. In my family we got in the habit of making everyones presents because not only did it mean more but you had made a gift specifically tailored to that person. I remember the first year we took on this challenge. Terrance took care of the boy cousins and I would take care of the girls. I decided to make all the girls dolls that looks like them. The eyes, hair, and clothing matched what they looked like and their personal style. I remember this experience because this is the first time I used a sewing machine, the first time I used and iron, and the first time I remember burning myself over 15 times with a hot glue gun. Although, the burns hurt like mad, I loved seeing their faces when they opened their present to find their own personal doll. Those smiles and hugs will never fade and because of that I will never stop making presents.

Another memorable moment was when I had created a MASSIVE latch and hook for my grandfather who loves loves loves tigers. I found this challenge at hobby lobby and insisted on buying it. It took my forever and we didn't get to wrap it until the night of Christmas with a custom frame. But, that latch and hook covers one of the walls when coming down the stairs and I smile every-time I see it, knowing that he sees it every morning when he walks downstairs.

 

The Smell

Have you noticed that Christmas has a smell? That is one thing I am missing while in L.A. You do not smell fall when you walk out the door! But, I know when I get home at Christmas the smell will most likely bring me to tears and I am 100% okay with having to reapply my mascara. You have the smell of fresh pine, fresh cookies, a roaring fire, candles, and the crisp air. The smell of a house and the outdoors during Christmas makes my heart melt and I am so excited for it.

I spend a majority of Christmas in different houses but I also spend a decent portion in a church. Midnight mass specifically; is my favorite mass of the year. The candles, darkness, lights, decorated nativity, advent wreath, and the look and smell of everyones Christmas best. I adore this feeling and the faint smell when walking into that mass will bring you to your knees.

 

The Music

This is another one of those moments that if you have been around me long enough you know that I listen to Christmas music all year long. It for some reason.. soothes me? I am not sure why, so please do not ask me to explain. I am obsessed with Christmas music and you can catch me singing it all the time. Especially after Thanksgiving. (This is the first year I will be able to listen to Christmas music in my house before Thanksgiving because I do not have my mom telling me that I can't until after the turkey day is over! Yay me!) I feel that you get into the Christmas spirit the easiest when you are singing! Now you know why "Elf" is one of my favorite Christmas movies. "The best way to spread Christmas cheer is to sing loud for all to hear!" I agree and abide by this rule. Even thought my singing sound like someone dying, I am all about singing my heart out in the spirit of Christmas!

 

The Hugs, Smiles, and Love!

We all get more hugs on Christmas than we do any other time of the year. Let's be honest, you just want to hug people more! You are happy and excited to be with them which makes you reach out and hug them, tell them you are happy to see them (and mean it), and then give them a big ol' smile!

 

Yes, I am 100% aware that this post is premature and if my mother was next to me she would be asking me what the heck is going on in my head. She would then roll her eyes and chuckle because she just knows how I am... fortunately, Christmas never leaves my mind. I love the feeling of Christmas. Not the commercialized aspects of what the hottest toy on the market is. I like Christmas in the purest way possible. If I could have this feeling all year long my heart would explode! I hope these moments have sparked a few of your own memories and you appreciate those moments a little more this holiday season!


Much love,

Josephine A. Meinardus

35 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page