top of page
Writer's pictureJosephine A. Meinardus

11:11 Make a wish

"Wishing is for the people who hold enough hope in their heart to believe that there is always something better on the way."

 

Superstition... something that has been instilled into me since a young age. I always draw three x's and spit before crossing the path of a black cat. When someone makes a comment trying to predict something I knock on wood to reverse the jinx. I don't pack until the night before any trip because I am worried that bad things will happen if I pack any earlier. You will never catch me stepping on a crack, and most importantly I never showed anyone my prom dress out of fear that my date would break up with me the week before. In other words, I am VERY superstitious. Not to mention that I was involved in one of the most superstitious sports known to America... the great sport of softball. The superstitions that I had in that sport lived through every sport after that. In volleyball I would wear the same pair of spandex if we had won the game previously, the socks were held to the same requirements (I washed them... gross), but I would have to say the weirdest one was my hair. If my hair was curled the last game we won it stayed curled every game until we lost. It did not matter if I had to wake up an hour earlier on gamely or bring my curling iron or straightener with me... I was not about to mess up the mojo.


I have also, always been a dreamer which is why I bring up 11:11. The reason I love this time is not only are the stars out to say hello, but I am a firm believer that you should make a wish at this time anytime you catch it. Why is that exactly? Because what if one of these times it works? I always wish for the same thing. I never change my wish because let's be honest consistency is key.


I bring up being a dreamer and being superstitious because I feel that they fit hand in hand. I am a firm believer that I am a dreamer because of how superstitious I am, and I am 100% okay with it.


Being a dreamer is always something that I have loved about my personality. I have too much hope in my heart. I am always wishing for the next thing to be bigger and better. I am always waiting for a new challenge to cross my path. Let's also be honest with the fact that I am still a big kid at heart, so the whole wishing upon a star thing is something that I just cannot get enough of. And let's be honest with Cinderella being my favorite fairytale... are we even shocked that I am a dreamer? I mean I sing, "a dream is a wish your heart makes" when I am having a moment and need to ground myself. I have always been a dreamer, and encourage every single person reading this that they start wishing upon stars, at 11:11, when they lose an eyelash, and on dandelions. Even if those wishes never come true... at least you still have that childlike dreamer close to your heart.


What do you wish for? Oh, wait! Don't tell me or it won't come true!


As always, much love! Keep wishing!💕

Josephine A. Meinardus

21 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page