top of page
Writer's pictureJosephine A. Meinardus

Port Aransas, Texas

"I believe in the ocean curing all bad moods. I believe in the waves wiping away all worry. I believe in seashells bringing good luck. I believe in toes in the sand grounding the soul."


 

The beach. It is always a magical place. A place to relax, have fun, and be able to nap whenever you want to. The ocean is my favorite place to be. If you gave me the choice of riding the roller coaster on the pier or splashing in the waves for another 45 minutes. I would choose the waves any day of the week. I am what my family calls, "A water baby." I can spend hours upon hours in the water and still want more. But, there is something about that salty air, the crashing waves, the sticky sand; something peaceful.


Port Aransas is my beach; or at least that is what I say. My family will drive the 12 hours to Port Aransas in June, July, or December. We loooooove that beach. Port Aransas reminds me of a small town. If you go down there often enough, they remember your name. The amount of memories that are in this town are unreal. Enough go them to call Port Aransas my second home. Here are a few....


The time I burned a good portion of my body. Wait, that was just about every single time I went to the beach. Yes, but in all fairness that happens when I step outside my front door. Many of my best burns have been while I was in Port Aransas. The legendary ones, ya know? The ones where you can barely walk or the ones where you can't lay on a certain side because it makes you want to cry. I know what you are thinking. Josephine needs to use sunscreen... but, I promise you guys. I DO!!!


What about the time that I woke up at 3 a.m. two days before New Years eve because the people down the beach had one too many margaritas and thought it was a great idea to set off the largest and loudest fireworks they had. That was a heart attack. We had a beachside property that year and I remember hearing the fireworks and waking up from a dead sleep screaming. It is funny now but, at that time, it was a living nightmare.


Lets talk about the times that My grandfather, my brother, my cousins, and I all pile up on a bench outside one of our favorite restaurants because it is a "tradition" as my grandpa says. What about when I drank more Shirley Temples two days after Christmas than I have ever drank in my life. Listen, those drinks are a God sent and if you haven't had one... you are missing out on one of the greatest adventures in life. And, lets not forget the time that I dropped a necklace that I considered priceless, at the time, into the sand flea infested dunes... truth be told, my little cousin dropped my $7 shark tooth necklace off the balcony and I thought it was the end of the world. Which in turn made my dad, great uncle, 2nd cousin, one-legged grandpa, and my other uncle climb down and find that shark tooth. We all know who holds the reigns... just sayin'...


Everyone knows that going to the beach is the ultimate peaceful vacation where you can nap, read, run, sunbathe, or sing at the top of your lungs in the mist of the waves. The ocean is the ultimate getaway. When choosing your next beach trip.. I am hardcore team Port Aransas, Texas.


 

Now for my 5 tips for your next beach vacation!

1. SUNSCREEN!!!!! You might think you tan well... until that sunlight mixes with that saltwater...

2. Go out on the beach between 6-12 and 6-dark. 12-6 are the hottest and busiest times of the day at the beach so just avoid them and go do something fun with the family instead.

3. Do not change out of your bathing suit if you don't have to... enjoy not having to wear pants or a shirt. It is exhilarating! (lol I hope you laughed at that one, because if you didn't that means I am the only one laughing and that is just a tad pathetic on my end)

4. DO NOT TURN ON THE TELEVISION - you will thank me later

5. Challenge yourself and your family to go without their phones for 24 hours. You realize that you do not need to be attached and that your time is spent better doing more productive things than scrolling through Instagram.


16 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page